Click here to schedule your free case review, or call our office at (904) 358-2020 today to speak with a member of our team.
Joseph C. Miller, P.A. charges legal fees only when clients receive compensation for their injuries, and his fee is a percentage of the compensation that is set by the Florida State Bar. Be aware that even if you lose the case, you are still responsible for court costs (such as filing fees), and any amount charged by witnesses to testify in your case.
The duration of a case varies significantly depending on the specific circumstances. Six months is a good estimate for a relatively simple case (Auto Accident with a clear at-fault party). However, some of the more complex cases can take a several years or more to resolve.
The minimum legal auto insurance allowed by the State of Florida gives you $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance.
We are talking about semi-trucks, not pickups and SUVs. There are a number of Federal laws regarding how professional truck drivers must behave in order to remain sufficiently alert and aware on the road. In addition, bringing a suit involving a trucking accident often means suing a company, which makes such cases typically far more complex.
Florida law allows a wrongful death suit to be filed only by spouses, children, parents, or other relatives or adoptive siblings who were dependent on the deceased for financial or emotional support.
Anyone who benefited from the deceased’s financial support may sue for the loss of that support as well as for medical and/or funeral expenses. In addition:
In the state of Florida, yes. The state has a ‘strict liability’ policy surrounding dogs.
Just one: if the dog attack happened on the owner’s property, the dog was properly fenced in or otherwise contained, a “Beware of Dog” or similar sign was posted, and the victim was 6 years of age or older, the owner is not liable for the damages caused by the attack.
In Florida, a Slip and Fall case requires you to prove the following:
Yes, but only under very limited circumstances. In Florida, the only ‘duty of care’ you owe a trespasser is to “refrain from willful or wonton injury”; which means the burglar can only sue you if, for example, you deliberately set a trap for him that injured him.
There are several nuances of law that make motorcycle accidents unique, but one of the most critical factors is that in Florida, PIP insurance (see Auto Accident FAQs above) is not required on vehicles with less than four wheels. This means that it in many cases, motorcycle drivers do not have PIP insurance, making it far more difficult to get your medical bills paid if you are injured in a motorcycle accident.
There are several unique factors. The intersections between Admiralty law, Federal law, State law, and local law are extremely complex. Add to that the fact that many boat operators are unskilled, unlicensed, often first-time users with no insurance, and Boating Accidents rapidly ramp up into levels of complexity that require the skilled assistance of an attorney with specific experience in this particular area of the law.
Florida law only allows a suit to be filed by the resident themselves or by an immediate family member if the resident is physically or mentally incapable of filing a lawsuit on their own behalf.
In Florida, the damages you can seek in a Nursing Home Abuse suit are limited only by the actual cost of the abuse, with one exception; if a case of abuse causes the death of a resident, the family member filing the suit must choose to pursue the suit only as a Wrongful Death suit or as an Abuse suit. You cannot win damages for both the resident’s pain and suffering (Abuse) and the family’s pain and suffering (Wrongful Death).
Yes, but restitution (when it is ordered at all) only pays (at most) for a victim’s immediate crime-related expenses such as medical bills from being assaulted or the value of stolen goods. Damages such as physical pain, mental trauma, and suffering must be sought in a civil case.
No. Extensive checks and balances exist within the law to ensure that a criminal does not pay the same cost twice. This does not mean that restitution alone or compensation alone (such as from the Crimes Compensation Trust Fund) accurately measure the true amount of damage caused by the commission of a crime; all three (restitution, compensation, and damages) together, however, do.